Posted on 5 December 2008

my new kimono top…
Irene: “NOOOO!! You can’t go out wearing that!! Mr Koeglenberg has something just like that!”
Paul: “What are you wearing?!?!??! A nightgown?!?”

Paul, musingly: “And you know what’s the worst of it? You’re going out to your BA friends now, and they’re all just going to encourage you by telling you how cool that looks.”

Me: “Wouldn’t it be so awkward if I brought it up?”
Nielen: “Grace, you’ve never been one to stand by social conventions and topics. Why are you letting that stop you now?!?!?”

Nielen: “My friend broke up with her guy recently but I didn’t know how bad it was until I asked her where he came from. And she said Hell.”

Irene, finding map directions for me: “Hmm.. it’s just.. If you can count, you should be fine.”

Sarah: “Look at my mess!” [we all look down at the biscuit crumbs by her feet] “I suck at life!”

Adrian: You shouldn’t sleep in the sun! You’re going to get ‘sonsteek’ and go mad!”
JP: “You shouldn’t say that to Grace! She’s very interested in things like that.. she IS a BA!”

Jason G: “If the mayor doesn’t sit there with a pen and paper while I’m talking, I’m going to…”
Me: “give him one?”
Jason G, taken aback: “That’s a great suggestion! Much better than mine! I was planning to punch him.”

Facilitator: “How are we going to get people to become more eco-aware?”
Grant: “Threaten them?”

Mayor: “I’m quite well known for making long speeches”
person behind me, muttering: “too long.”

after a false panic about a car window left open..
Me: “phew, I was almost about to freak about my car getting stolen!”
Charday: “With your driving, you should be more concerned about dying!”

Paul: “I think [Person A] is very similar to me.”
Me, thinking: “You’re both honourable?”
Paul: “Oh, thanks. But that’s not what I meant.”
Me, thinking a bit more: “You both don’t get on with girls?!?!”

Paul: “I hope fresh blood comes to TBT next year.. I want to meet new people!”
Simon: “You mean, a wife.”

my right and left…
Me, on the phone: “Adele! We’re LOST! We turned right after the robots…”
Everyone in the car: “LEFT!”
Me: “Left, we turned left!”

during poker..
Paul: “No commenting on the cards on the table.”
Adele, the biggest offender, musingly: “5, 6, 7, hey someone just needs a 8, 9 or a 4, 3 and they’ll have a ..”
Paul: “No commenting!!”
Adele: “I was just counting!”
Paul: “You’re an Ac Sci! You can count in your head!”

Paul: “Okay okay, you’re not allowed to say anything about the cards on the table, but you may insult each other.”
Simon, immediately: “Grace, your hair is ugly.”

every 20 minutes or so, the only insult that comes out is from Simon: “Grace, your hair is ugly.”

after I win a pretty big hand, Simon: “Grace. Your face is ugly.”

Leave a comment